How to Share Photos With Expiring Link in iOS 12 

The major problem that many of us encounter especially when sharing photos at one go is lagging. The issue is really compounded if Internet speed finds burdened by the file size.  Additionally, you also have to deal with the limitation on the number of files that you can send at once.

How to Share Photos or Videos with Temporary iCloud Link in iOS 12

iOS 12 allows you to send specific images more easily. Compared to the traditional method in the previous iOS version, it’s now faster. Significantly, you can share the shots to those who are not using Apple devices.

The link is available for 30 days before its automatic expiration. However, you can easily get it before the deadline. To create the link, make sure that you have iCloud Photos enabled on your iOS device. All you need is simply going to Settings → Apple ID banner → iCloud → Photos and then toggle the switch next to iCloud Photos to on. Now, follow the below steps:

Step 1: Open Photos app on your iOS 12 iPhone/iPad.

Step 2: Choose the photos you want to send and simply tap on the Share button.

Step 3: Next, select Copy Link from the share sheet.

Step 4: Now, wait for some minutes until the link is created. The time will depend on the file size on your device

Step 5: Once you have successfully copied the link to the clipboard, then you can share it with other people just like any other link. For example, open Messages app and paste the link in the text field and then send it to your friend.

Receive Shared Photos

On Android device, computer or iOS devices that are not running iOS 12

Just by clicking on the link, your friends/ family members will be taken to icloud.com where all you sent images will be displayed. There is also an option to download them.

Moreover, they can also select or deselect the images before tapping on the Download button.

On iOS 12 devices

When tapping on the link, there will be a popup saying, “Open”? “Your Name” shared this. You just join as “Your friend’s name.” The shared people only tap on Open. The images will then be opened in the “For You” section in the Photos app. There is also an option, called “Add All” for adding the images.

In order to add a single photo, simply choose the one you like and tap on “Add to the Library” button.

How to Copy the Link of Shared Photos

If you’d like to share the same photos with your other friends, you don’t have to repeat all steps above at least until thirty days from the date you create the link. To do so:

Step 1: Launch Photos app and tap on For You tab and choose Recently Shared section.

Step 2: Tap on the group of photos.

Step 3: Select the menu button in the top right and choose Copy Link.

You can now easily share the link to your beloved friends. iOS 12 lets you stop sharing the photos even before the link has been expired.

 

LEAVE A REPLY